EAGLE-REVIEW.COM

Chateau de Villette

Ratings

Most Recent Reviews

  • dgrizz

    This was our family's fourth time to come to Chateau de Villette. Every year the experience is better than the last. The gamekeeper and beaters have mastered their art to such an extent that every hunt has plentiful birds that flush at a perfectly shootable pace. We had eight hunts in two days, and every one was excellent. The food and wine are exquisite. Our last two meals (duck and pheasant) were among the two best meals I've ever eaten. The beds are luxurious after a long day of hunting with fine food, wine and cigars to end the day. Coen and Catherine are perfectly gifted hosts. I totally recommend this venue without qualification.

    02 Oct 2017
  • Swiss Gun

    This was my 5th trip to Villette. The Storks are fantastic hosts. The chateau is set in a beautiful environment providing great terrain for driven birds and the Head Keeper brings the English (Irish) touch to France to round it all up. Being able to walk from drive to drive and the great food make the entire stay a very cosy and social event. Looking forward to going back again soon.

    21 Sep 2017
    Management Response

    Christian, Thank you! Always enjoy your company very much. Coen and Catherine

  • Kees Bosman

    Excellent facilities , and superb hosts. They really take care of you. Nice game drives with more than enough birds for everybody. Would only suggest to have a closer look at the red wine served at the dinner table. Found Whites good.

    20 Sep 2017
    Management Response

    Dear Kees, Thank you for your compliments and next time we will have a complete wine list, We had some problems with the supply this time as the harvest was on when trying to get the wine delivered. Hope to see you back, Coen

  • Willem

    We are joining this shoot during many years and every year we are enthusiastic. The perfect quality of the accommodation, the kitchen and the presentation of the game is compensating the disadvantage of the long traveling distance abundantly.

    19 Sep 2017
    Management Response

    Thank you Willem!! Very much appreciated your visit.

  • Chasseur Belge

    This year, I had the opportunity to go back to Villette. After having enjoyed a nice weekend of driven shooting and a day of walked up shooting last year, I was very excited to see what this year would bring. Although it was the beginning of the season, I was pleased with the quality and quantity of birds (high ducks, nice pheasants and lightning fast partridges). In between drives the guests are offered plenty of good food and wines, what more does one want?! Thank You Coen, Catherine and the employees of Chateau de Villette for another successful shoot! hats off! Looking forward to what next time will bring!

    18 Sep 2017
    Management Response

    Tom, It was a pleasure to watch your exquisite shooting!

  • Gigimuc

    Back again in October 2016. I think it is fair to say that we had the best duck drive ever in what was our eighth (or was it seventh?) consecutive stay at Villette. And once again, there was a a mutual agreement in our group that there simply cannot be a better duck shoot than what we are being offered in Chateau de Villette. So now we're counting the days to our return in October 2017...congrats and kudos to our wonderful hosts Catherine and Coen., you have turned this into a VERY special place!

    20 Oct 2016
    Management Response

    Thank you for your review. this is very kind and not surprising coming form the group voted "friendliest ever shooting group" by mme Develay, our housekeeper and best anti-poaching person in Burgundy. Voted by me are some of the best guns we have had the pleasure to visit us. Hope to see you soon again. Coen Stork

  • Bill

    This shoot weekend was arranged for 9 guns and their wives/partners and was an outstanding success from the moment of arrival to the minute of departure. The drives are all accessible by walking from the Chateau. The mixed quarry is unusual and the duck drives among the best I have experienced anywhere. The venue and hospitality are excellent with wonderful hosts and a superb team and Keeper to make anyone experiencing this very special shoot wishing to return in the future. This is an exceptional experience and without doubt the best game shooting in France.

    11 Oct 2016
    Management Response

    Dear Bill, Compliments like this mean a lot to us and the team. We especially appreciated you introducing Steven to your group and shaking hands with every beater as a thank you! Your group was a pleasure to have. Thank you coming over to Chateau de Villette. Coen Stork

  • Jan van Erp

    very friendly atmosphere, excellent cuisine, good sport. We had 2 very good days. 1 on boar and 1 on game. Perfect.

    19 Jan 2016
  • by George

    Edwardian country house weekend meets French cuisine (...and wine) and hospitality. This one is a gem that's worth travelling to. Half a day drive from Calais and special enough to take the women along. Don't expect sky high drives but what you get is very well done. We've been twice and it won't be the last time. Try to take a half a team and mix it up with the Americans and Europeans...we ended up in New York because of the friends we made at Villette.

    05 Dec 2015
    Management Response

    Thank you for your positive review. For some of the dates we accept single guns and it always seems to mix well.

  • ab@bg

    There is one word that can be used to sum up our recent stay at Chateau de Villette, and that is fantastic. This was our first visit, and the first time we had shot in France, and what a tremendous time we had. From the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly had to leave, we wanted for nothing. Coen and Catherine Stork looked after us superbly and we were immediately made to feel completely at home. The food and wine were delicious, the accommodation extremely comfortable, and nothing was too much trouble for them. And the shooting, which was after all the purpose of our visit, was spectacular. Guns, ammunition and permit had been organised for us, and had it not been for the beautiful Chateau, and the warmth of the weather in mid-November, one could have been forgiven for thinking one was on a top shoot in England, because that was very much how the day was run. The drives were excellent with birds that were presented beautifully, and there was a great atmosphere - something that can all too often be missing from some shoots. We loved every moment, and very much hope to return.

    04 Dec 2015
    Management Response

    "Fantastic" is our response as well. "Fantastic" that you have written such a great review about our shoot. We (beaters, staff, Catherine and myself) are given a great boost by your comments. For years we have faced an enormous challenge to be compared to the best in England and it a great honour you have done so. We hope to see you back. Coen and Catherine

  • Dgrizz

    My three sons and I hunted pheasants and ducks at Chateau de Villette in September 2015. This was our second year in a row. Every hunt we did was plentiful with smart-flying birds. Our first duck hunt was the most exciting hour of hunting I've ever had. It was like a great dove hunt - but with ducks. We were shooting constantly, only stopping to open up new boxes of shells and to put on our shooting gloves because our barrels were so hot. I have never been out of breath after a period of shooting - and I was gasping for breath here. The hunting venues are perfectly manageable walks from the chateau. And, let me mention that the hospitality at the Chateau is attentive, lavish and still comfortable. Every meal, from breakfast to lunch to dinner is world class - not to mention the sausage and champagne snacks. We'll be back next year

    11 Oct 2015
    Management Response

    David, Thank you for this great review. It gives us the courage, energy and the will to keep improving everything. Your family and friends are a pleasure to host! Coen and Catherine Stork

  • Ben in New York

    This year was the third time we've visited Chateau de Villette. We've done rough shooting late season, and driven shooting early and mid-season. The quality and abundance of the birds is extremely high. In particular, the ability to shoot upland game (partridge and pheasant) as well as waterfowl (mallards) and with the kind of quality they offer is a unique wingshooting experience. The terrain is beautiful and diverse, despite being compact enough to be walkable. The organization with their keeper and beaters provides a truly pleasant and safe time in the field. Coen & Catherine are also outstanding hosts who truly welcome you to their family and home, and provide an outstanding culinary experience at every meal. This won't be the most inexpensive trip you've ever done, but certainly will be one of the best and most memorable.

    29 Sep 2015
  • Dave1814

    While expensive compared to hunting nearer to home (Texas), this was a once in a lifetime experience that exceeded my expectation. The wing shooting was fantastic fun with an abundance of shooting opportunities, and the staff and accommodations were exemplary. Our group booked a boar hunt on another estate also. When we had an issue with this hunt, Coen (the owner of Chateau de Villete) went above and beyond to both address our concerns and mediate an amicable solution. He is a consummate professional, has a relationship with other proprietors in his area, maintains an outstanding estate, has an informed and friendly staff, and provided an experience that will be talked about for the rest of our group's lives. I highly recommend considering Coen and Chateau de Villette if you are considering this kind of hunt. My friend in Europe has booked a variety of other hunts with him since our hunt.

    01 Jun 2015
    Management Response

    Thank you for the compliments. It was an honour hosting this group and we enjoyed your presence very much. Coen Stork

  • Post

    Nice place for driven bird with excellent hospitality

    01 Jun 2015
  • Maarten.Luykx

    I have had the pleasure of visiting Chateau de Villette several times over the last 5 years. The warm welcome and hospitality of the owners, the Stork family, is never failing and in tune with the unique atmosphere of the Chateau and beautiful surroundings. The ambiance and accommodations of the chateau are great and in style. Mr. Stork, an avid hunter, firmly manages the hunting grounds together with an enthusiastic and professional team. The “local rules” of the drives are clearly explained each time with emphasis on the safety for everyone. Personally I highly appreciate this no-nonsense, safe approach which is about the only time Mr. Stork is not in for a good joke or laugh but requires everyone’s undivided attention. The drives are of a stunning beauty, diversified and with ample and challenging birds for even the best guns. Besides hunting, there are many picturesque and interesting places to visit. After all you are in Burgundy...enjoy! Kind regards, Maarten en Mirjam Luykx

    01 Jun 2015
  • C.Ziegler

    Nice “English” Shoot on the continent. It’s a great alternative for us “Main Land Europeans”. The shoot is situated on the castle grounds of the Chateau du Villette in Burgundy. Not only is the does the Chateau provide a stylish and lovely setting, the Storks create a family atmosphere on top of that. Coen and his experienced English Game Keeper have put together a good shoot with pheasant, partridge and duck and the grounds allow you to walk from drive to drive which adds to the social side of the sport as well.

    01 Jun 2015
  • agjv

    Many birds, pheantastic atmosphere, great surroundings!

    01 Jun 2015
  • wim furthmann

    B&B as well as Cottage are very nice, tasteful and including stunning views across lovely Morvan.

    01 Jun 2015
  • Jesseldaniel

    Extremely hospitable, family run, shoot organised on English lines, but with magnificent Burgundian food, wines and countryside and very comfortable accommodation in a delightful chateau. I have been going for several years and the quality of shooting has improved immeasurably.

    01 Jun 2015
  • Rainer Breuker

    First of all it was a very great experiance in a wonderful landscape. The hospitaliy was not just perfect it was exellent. We had many wonderful moments together with our friends and also the relationship between us and family Storck was greatful. On the first day we started shooting dugs and patridges. We saw and shoot a lot of birds and it was well organised. And the end of the days we were very happy and we had many loughts when we had dinner. Dinner was the next thing which was perfect and delicious. when we booked our trip we asked if it would be posible to shoot also wild boars. So family Storck organised a daytrip for shooting wildbors. It was fantastic. So our opinion is just positiv and we would someday we will come back to Chateau Vilette for sure. Your family Breuker

    01 Jun 2015
  • Pecunius12

    Chateau de Villette is a great shooting venue and gastronomy. Coen and Katherine are great hosts in their home and I have loved my two shooting weekend. The game keeper presents great birds from partridge over the hedges or the high hard flying ducks. For a great weekend of shooting and food and wine this venue is the place.\n\n

    01 Jun 2015
  • Floris Lemstra

    We enjoyed every minute of our weekend. The well organized drives resulted in a good and regular amount of birds. Coen is a welcoming host with a good sense of humour and he is surrounded by a solid staff of gamekeepers and beaters. The stay in Chateau de Villette was wonderful with beautiful rooms, delicious food and an exciting wine selection. We will be back!

    01 Jun 2015
  • Bill

    If you wish to shoot driven birds in the \typical English\ style in France there is no better shoot. The drives are both interesting and challenging. The quarry is varied game birds and duck. With boar shooting on offer nearby you could hardly ask for more.\n\nThe Chateau offers excellent shooting facilities and the most remarkable hospitality - the cuisine on offer is essentially French - is there any need to say more??

    01 Jun 2015
  • woodcock

    Burgund, ein Synonym für exklusive Weine und eine phantastische Küche. Was dem passionierten Flugwild-Jäger jetzt noch fehlte war der Grund, einmal mehr ins Burgund zu fahren. Chateau Villette war die Antwort. Cathrin und Coen Stork verbinden alle Vorteile der Region mit einer Jagd, die keine Wünsche offen lässt. Gejagt haben wir auf Fasan, Rebhuhn und Enten. Wer will, kann auch auf Schwarzwild und Rotwild jagen. Die Flugwildjagd war hervorragend. Alle, die Beater, der Gamekeeper, die Hundeführer und Coen Stork arbeiteten sehr hart, um uns Jägern die besten Möglichkeiten zu geben. Eine disziplinierte Jagd, die mich sehr an die guten Jagden in England erinnerten. Das kombiniert mit den Vorteilen der Region Burgund. Was will man mehr?

    01 Jun 2015
  • gigimuc

    God in France!! \nLast visit was in October 2014, extraordinarily beautiful place, as always excellent food and wine, makes you almost feel at home or at least with some close friends, drives were organised extremely smoothly (as always) , lots of game and nice shooting. We will be back!!!!!

    01 Jun 2015
Read Reviews Write Review