× Countries Species Methods Top selection Write a review Propose a New Host

Question

Contact Us

Crown River Safari,  Salem,  South Africa, Caracal, Oribi, Leopard, Bush buck, Sable, Grysbok, Bushpig, Rhebok, Warthog, Genet, Klipspringer antelope, Hartebeest, Springbok, Zebra, Biesbok, Baboon, Bontebok, Wildebeest, Ostrich, Lechwi, Duiker, Roan antelope, Impala, Waterbuck, Lion, Gemsbok, Steenbok, Porcupine, Fallow deer, Reed buck, Giraffe, Nyala, Greater kudu, Eland, Oryx, Blackbuck antelope, Jackal

Crown River Safari

Rating

  • Species quality and density
  • How well was your event organised
  • How good was service and hospitality
  • Beauty of the destination
  • Value for money

Salem, South Africa
Caracal, Oribi, Leopard, Bush buck, Sable, Grysbok, Bushpig, Rhebok, Warthog, Genet, Klipspringer antelope, Hartebeest, Springbok, Zebra, Biesbok, Baboon, Bontebok, Wildebeest, Ostrich, Lechwi, Duiker, Roan antelope, Impala, Waterbuck, Lion, Gemsbok, Steenbok, Porcupine, Fallow deer, Reed buck, Giraffe, Nyala, Greater kudu, Eland, Oryx, Blackbuck antelope, Jackal

1995 Springbok and Rugby World Cup winner, Hennie le Roux is the private owner of this rich landscape which abounds in fauna and flora.
Crown River Safari and Wildlife Reserve is home to the Crowned Eagle, Fish Eagle and Kingfishers - just some of the kaleidoscope of bird species nesting in habitation along the river banks.
Kudu majestically roam the bushveld while Zebra graze lazily on the open plains. Nyala and Bushbuck appear from the lengthening shadows and Largemouth Bass glide below in rock crevices as the crimson sunset gives way to a shimmering moon reflected on the water.
Several other species brought back from the brink of extinction enjoy the ecological harmony. Although buffalo are found on Crown River Safari, game deemed dangerous such as lion and elephant are found on Nature Reserves near Crown River Safari. The Reserve borders the Thomas Baines Nature Reserve, situated in the main water catchment area of Grahamstown at the confluence of two rivers – the dominant Kariega River flowing 40km further to meet the Indian Ocean at Kenton-on-Sea.
Crown River is a nature lover’s paradise with dense ravine thickets, scattered thorn trees and open areas making this an idyllic outdoor experience.
The Crown River philosophy is driven by making quality and lasting friendships, bringing guests closer to nature and ensuring that they experience enduring memories.
Crown River Safari is situated on a private game reserve 22 km outside of Grahamstown. The lodge is perched 20 meters above the high water mark on the Settlers dam with breathtaking views up river. Animal and bird sightings along the river banks are a guaranteed occurrence from the spacious viewing porch. The lodge can be booked in its entirety or per person depending on the need. The lodge sleeps 10, and is made up of three bedrooms and large double volume lounge, dining room and bar is available in the lodge, a further two separate units from the lodge. Further entertainment and further accommodation can be arranged if required. Sun downer cruisers and game drives can be arranged on request.


Price from

price per person per day
$413.75

Language

Open Season

Review icon Reviews (10)

  • PerryC 29 Aug 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    The knowledge and experience of my host, Brian, and his team was beyond any expectations. This was only matched by the friendliness and determination to make this somewhere you must return too! I would challenge any one to eat meals at a table with more beautiful and outstanding views, this alone makes the trip worthwhile, then you add in the animals -. Thank-you Brian, Hennie, and team. Now to book my next visit,

  • Elisabeth Müller 16 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    the most beautiful place at south africa I love the place and I love the people who live and works on this place

  • Deidre Krog 10 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    People can say why travel thousand miles for hunting. Well Crown River Safari is a very good excuse. The hunting is amazing! The team of professional hunters have an infinite knowledge of the farm and of game hunting! What is so unique about the experience is that you are taken into mountains with the most stunning view of water, tranquility and wild life. Leaving Crown River Safari I felt as if apart of myself was left behind so be prepared!

  • Elisabeth Müller 09 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Einer der schönsten Orte den ich jemals in meinem Leben besucht habe. Ich durfte zwei Wochen an diesem wunderbaren Ort verbringen und die Gastfreundschaft der Besitzer Hennie und Anneke Le Roux genießen. Es war eine traumhaft schöne Zeit mit wunderbaren Game Drives, mit Bootsfahrten auf dem traumhaft schönen Karina River, mit Ausflügen nach Grahamstown und Kenton on Sea am indischen Ozean. Immer wieder bin ich mit dem Fotoapparat bewaffnet losgezogen und habe so einige Wunder der Natur einfangen können. Leider war die Zeit viel zu kurz und ich freue mich heute schon auf einen weiteren Besuch im nächsten Jahr All jenen die Freiheit und die Natur lieben kann ich einen Besuch an diesem wunderbaren Ort nur empfehlen. Danke Anneke und Hennie, doch auch danke Brian Mullins für eine wunderbare Zeit...ich war im Himmel

  • David J Marks 09 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have known and hunted with Brian "Boet" Mullins for over 12 years from pursuing the smallest of African plains game species to cape buffalo. I can not give Brian any higher recommendation as he is not only an exceptional PH but also a serious student of Africa's flora and fauna and its incredible history and languages. Crown River Safaris is situated in a beautiful area of the Eastern Cape Provence and is home to most of this areas plains game species and incredible birdlife. What makes Crown River even more special for this area is it's herd of cape buffalo which one can hunt making your safari even more exciting. The Crown River Safari lodge overlooks a beautiful river and is well appointed and very comfortable. I have had the pleasure of meeting Hennie le Roux and truly enjoyed visiting about his passions of Africa's wildlife, rugby and entreprenuerial pursuits. You will not be disappointed with your experience! If anyone would like to discuss my experiences with Brian "Boet" Mullins or Crown River Safaris further please feel free to email me at davidmarks@marksmanrealty.com.

  • Leanne 09 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Perfect break to unwind from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. We were taken with the beautiful setting of the lodge and the view over the river. The lodge is very comfortable and the staff friendly and very hospitable. We really enjoyed the river cruise seeing a Fish Eagle and game from the river. Had fantastic game drives spotting zebra, bush buck, bontebok, waterbuck, duiker, warthogs and buffalo. Would definitely recommend a visit to family and friends.

  • Matthew Higgins 08 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Crown River Safari is an excellent venue and is well run. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and to ensure the best possible hunt. It is the reason that I have returned to this unique destination. Great hunting environment, fantastic setting and friendly and efficient staff.

  • Jan Erasmus 08 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Wonderfull venue and hunting destination. Met all expectations. Well looked after. Hunt was good and met all expectations. Silence and tranquility was most enjoyable.

  • Warren Kruuse 07 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Our time at Crown River Safari, however short, was thoroughly enjoyable. The lodge has the most incredible view of the valley and water, I will remember fondly sitting around the fire, sipping on a glass of red, listening to the sound of the night. It was exactly what I needed. We saw lovely Impala and Warthog, my wife will never forget the sighting of the Waterbuck, with their markings like they had just sat on a paint tin.There's something very special about Crown River Safari, the staff and its beautiful vistas. we hope to return soon. Thank you Brian and the rest of the team

  • Wayne Sueltz 04 May 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I would like to thank Hennie and Crown River Safaris for the adventure of a lifetime for my wife and I. I cannot say enough about the accommodation and staff as they worked very hard to make us feel at home for our first international trip. The ease of travel arrangements kept us stress free to enjoy our adventure to the fullest. The hunting was better than I could have ever dreamed as we located many different species of game every day and harvest opportunities were abundant. I enjoyed the options of spot and stalk and ground blind hunting, a nice change from just tree stands back home. I look forward to returning very soon with my wife and teenage daughter to once again experience the African adventure with Crown River Safaris. Thanks again for a wonderful adventure. Kevin Day, Oklahoma, USA



More