× Countries Species Methods Top selection Write a review Propose a New Host

Question

Contact Us

Salvelinus - Fly Fishing the Pyrenees Mountains,  España,  Spain, Brown trout, Rainbow trout, Trout, Carp, Other fish

Salvelinus - Fly Fishing the Pyrenees Mountains

Rating

  • Species quality and density
  • How well was your event organised
  • How good was service and hospitality
  • Beauty of the destination
  • Value for money

España, Spain
Brown trout, Rainbow trout, Trout, Carp, Other fish

Experience the unspoiled nature of Spain’s Pyrenees where crystal clear waters teem with wild trout. You’ll have access to more than 60 rivers –1.500 miles– and 180 lakes all within easy driving distance of our two lodges. Salvelinus features comfortable accommodation, delicious Mediterranean cuisine, and Spain’s famous Rioja wines. It’s the perfect trip for couples blending first-rate fly fishing with Old World charm.
Come as a guest... return as a friend.
SALVELINUS has organized fly fishing tours and expeditions in the Pyrenees of northern Spain since 1999.
SALVELINUS takes its task seriously; all the effort put into each adventure is to live up to what the guest wants out of a fishing holiday.
Expect a welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff and a cultural experience known by few in this special corner of the world.
Fihing lodgesSalvelinus offers a wide range of accommodation beginning with the two main lodges, each centrally located in its region to provide the best access to outstanding fishing:
La Jacetania Lodge: a 15th-century stone built fishing lodge, on the banks of the Aragon River, in the picturesque village of Santa Cilia in the western Pyrenees.
La Ribagorza Lodge: a charming traditional hotel in the Pyrenees with superb local cuisine serves as the main SALVELINUS base of operations in the eastern Pyrenees.
Both are well equipped with comfortable rooms, outstanding new and traditional Spanish cuisine, and complemented by select Rioja and Pyrenees wines.

SALVELINUS not only works from 2 strategically located Lodges in the heart of the Pyrenees but can also offer a choice range of accommodation close to the fishing hotspots throughout the extensive Pyrenees of northern Spain in the regions of Navarre, Aragon, Catalonia and the small independent country of Andorra
(Historic hotels, Old palaces, Restored farms, Monasteries,Secluded resort) .
Any of the hostelries provide Mediterranean cuisine with traditional Spanish dishes as well as a selection of Spanish wines.


Price from

price per person per day
POA (Price On Application)

Species

Method

Language

Open Season

Review icon Reviews (27)

  • Greg Newey 14 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    This is probably the best organised fly fishing trip I have ever been on. Great people and great fishing and the greatest food ever! My partner Sue had a wonderful time with her guide as well, especially to the wineries! Salvelinus were just perfect from start to finish and I cannot praise them enough!!!! Greg Newey

  • Taffy 07 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Shall we go fishing? and if so, where will we go !! but to Salvelinus, a Guiding company in the Spanish Pyrenees - the best Guiding Company that I have met having fished UK, Canada, Alaska and Patagonia. We can start at the very best restaurant in the Pyrenees at Aren, a family ownership of over 300 years, with accommodation acceptable to anyone with it's A.C., complimentary bottle of wine on arrival as well as access to an in-house Sauna and Massage for the weary bones of the long distance traveller. Aren´s lodge has everything for the anglers and the travel companions. It is the "genuine article" as Hemingway would have seen it with its surroundings; Spain as she was and should be, children, boys and girls playing in the village square, locals sitting "en family" discussing what might or will happen as the sun sets, hunters returning from the mountains with trophies - there can be no better. The food! - we can start with an eight course tasting menu with unrestrained glasses of wine from premier vineyards fitted to our choice orchestrated by the owner Juan Antonio whose humour is a match for you and anyone. That is the beginning, and then we sit next morning to a breakfast overflowing with cheese, fresh fruit, hams and other meats, fresh bread and pastries and eggs served to your request and meet with our "Guides". Alternatively, we can start at Ivan Tarin's Santa Cilia´s Lodge - great local food & accommodation in monastic buildings giving a sense of history within the surroundings of a simple village and looking over a river, the village full of the sounds of swallows and running water - as host, Ivan is very knowledgeable on "Classic" Spanish Wines and most persuasive in his serving ! but that is only the beginning - we are here on a 10 day fishing and cultural tour where we men do the hard bit, the fishing; and our ladies go with multi lingual guides to visit 11th and 12th Century Churches, Vineyards, local Restaurants and probably undertake some gentle shopping Our fishing will take us to a complex of River, lakes and mountain creek fishing tailored to all standards; the guides, having previously scouted them all are able to present the fisherman with opportunities appropriate to his/her level of skill in superb surroundings - some sites can be challenging in approach to the mountains but that is all to the good - the effort is worthwhile. The Guides not only scout and guide but will care, feed and support you to an extraordinary standard. You may fish a limestone canyon one day with lightning fast "zebra" trout, the next to a broad river and follow on with a high mountain lake or stream. 2017 saw me netting fish greater than 3 kg in brown trout, wild rainbow, "zebra" trout, and barbel. I believe I netted more than ten on the majority of our daily excursions - enough to satisfy; with one enormous trout with a tail like a shovel - escaping the net!!!!!!! as Ivan was about to capture it. At lunch, over a glass of wine, you may ask me why I keep been coming back to fish with Salvelinus ? - it is to be with my friends - Ivan, Juan Antonio, Aleix, Alberto, Serge, Javier, Aitor, Raluca, Maria Jose, Judit and other old friends like Ramon,so as to enjoy a unique combination of friendship and professionalism I have fished many different waters with Salvelinus during my last 10 years - as a rough count not less than forty in areas, including National Parks, where rarely will you meet a walker let alone another angler; you will walk river banks marked only by the wild boar. And finally, would you like me to tell you something more about my Salvelinus experience? - I have been wined and dined in the best restaurant in the World - a sunny day on a Spanish mountain overlooking the Pyrenees in the company of men whose friendship I treasure and fondly remember - Ivan, Ramon and the other Guides. And I will say in God's own language "Diolch yn fawr" - Gallis for "much thanks"and that will never be enough.

  • Irwin71 04 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I had an amazing fishing trip with Salvelinus in the Pyrenees. I got to experience varying rivers and beautiful terrain. I caught big and small fish and sometimes it was hard to keep the fish off the fly. The guides were all experienced and helpful in providing pointers. Although I have been fishing for ten plus years, the guides helped me improve my technique tremendously. Ivan does everything to make sure you are having a wonderful experience. The food at Juan Antonio's restaurant where we ate everyday is amazing and is some of the best food I have ever had. I look forward to my return trip to fish and see my new friends again.

  • sm-nyc 02 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Salvelinus is unique in that it provides a custom guide service for the angler as well as the non-fishing companion. I spent my days fishing with a world-class guide on beautiful streams and rivers while my wife was out with her own culture guide, touring the area and hiking the local parks and forests. I can't recommend these folks highly enough. I just wish I could have stayed longer. Even better, my wife feels the same way.

  • Mick 02 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    A fantastic four days with the Salvelinus team. Very relaxed, informal, warm, friendly and great fun! Based at The Ribagorza Lodge, a quiet and comfortable hotel in the sleepy Pyrenean mountain village of Aren. Transfers to/from Barcelona on the high speed train were very painless. Food and wine were first class, provided at Juan Antonio's restaurant around the corner from the hotel or tasty picnics with wine served on the river bank. Rods, reels, waders, boots etc are all available at no extra charge and excellent quality. The mountain scenery is unrelentingly stunning. In late October, we were perhaps lucky to be blessed with four days of blue skies and warm sunshine. Transported in great comfort to fish many different waters in the area; mountain streams to mature wide rivers and always had the river to ourselves. The day chasing (and catching!) Barbel and very pretty wild Brownies on the Segre, overlooked by towering red mountains in the background will live with me for a long time. We were not complete beginners, but relative novice fly fishers. Ivan's tennis court casting refresher on arrival in conjunction with Aitor and Alex's hard work, excellent guiding and patience made it a truly excellent and memorable experience.

  • Skip Victor 01 Nov 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I too would like to add to the comments of others, that Ivan is the hardest working and most wonderful guide/host I've experienced. With pleasure I can highly recommend Salvelinus for both fishermen/fisherwomen and non-anglers. Ivan is all about customer services, courtesy, giving all his customers a first rate experience.

  • Jean-Paul Kauthen 29 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    We booked the Pyrenees Tour with Ivan Tarin and his Salvelinus team. I flyfished and my wife did the tour for the accompanying persons: visiting historic attractions, old monasteries, churches and chapels, castles, wineries and tastings as well as wellness sessions. We were simply overwhelmed by the quality of services we received. Ivan and his team are highly professional. Lodges, food and wines are also outstanding. In one word: everything was just perfect! Highly recommendable!

  • Ginger Sheriff 29 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    As the wife of a fly fisherman and a non-fisher Salvelinus arranged an excellent itinerary and I really enjoyed the company of both my guides,Marie Jose and Judit - they were both extremely knowledgeable and whilst Marie Jose spoke perfect English by the second day Judit was almost fluent too. The region is spectacular and the cultural tour of the historical sites was excellent, capped off by the Festival in Greus which was very special. The food and wine experience too was exceptionally good. I know Spanish food is mis-understood by most people who just think of the food in the Costas - how wrong can people be. We left Aren feeling very satisfied with our stay and looking now for wines from not just Rioja and Rueda. Marie Jose’s friendship with the bodega owners got us more than just a visit, but a visit with the owners and their enthusiasm for their product is infectious Thank you too for the trip to Zaragoza, at the hotel we received an upgrade. Cristina too was an excellent guide and, exhausted as we were after the drive etc, we were entranced by the Goya Museum and though i knew a lot of the work having seen much in Madrid, Cristina’s art knowledge really did bring his work and the history of Zaragoza to life. Our trip our to the Bodega in the Grenage Kingdom was really good and the owner was so friendly and interesting and gave us so much of his time, even though his father was in the hospital. The refurbished Palace was an incredible feat of love and attention. so much to see and do we will certainly plan a return trip to Zaragoza. And not to forget the Cathedral that we liked a lot more than the El Pilar, good as it was - i think by the time we arrived there we were somewhat overwhelmed. And the food - who could fault Casa Montal - all in all fabulous. We didn't do justice to the tapas bars - saving them for our next visit - the lunches were too good!

  • chris 29 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have fished all over the world and stayed at many lodges Salvelinus is just in a class of its own. An Incredibly warm welcome from a team of fantasticly knowledgeable people who open up all the secrets of this wonderful country. Salvelinus runs like a Swiss watch. My passion is dry fly fishing for wild trout and the fishing offered in the Spanish Pyrenees is just exceptional. To top all this off sensational food and wine served with so much attention to detail. Cannot recommend Salvelinus enough. I will be back for sure. Christopher Rownes FFI master Fly casting Instructor

  • sammac 27 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I can not recommend Salvelinus enough. Ivan and his team worked tirelessly to create an incredible experience for us. The fishing is some of the best in the world with Ivan's knowledge of the region shining through with the huge variety of options available. The food and wine were superb, Tapas Tours, Wine tastings, 4 course lunches on the river bank with local wines, unbeatable. But most of all the service blew us away. We felt incredibly welcome from the start and really enjoyed spending time with Ivan and his guides. We have been very lucky to fish at many great lodges in our time, but this is by far one of the best we have experienced and should definitely be on every fisherman's list.

  • antonio56 26 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    He pasado unos días de pesca espectaculares. La experiencia de la pesca extraordinaria por cantidad y calidad de los peces, pero además redondeado con una perfecta organización, y estancias que hacen que toda la experiencia sea sobresaliente ( comida, lodge, trato del personal, etc). Una experiencia que no puedes perderte si te gusta la pesca. Si vas acompañado, no lo dudes, todo el equipo de salvelinus se esfuerza en que los acompañantes, también tengan unos días inolvidables, y de verdad que lo consiguen

  • Bob W 26 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    My brother and I spent a week fishing with Salvelinus in the Fall of 2017. We both had a great time, fun rivers, big and small fish, and great food, wine, and company. I hope to fish with Ivan and Salvelinus again.

  • Arthur Sheriff 27 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    This was my first trip to the Pyrenees to fly fish, I had explained to Ivan that I wanted to fish for trout in the rivers and streams high up in the mountains, I am truly impressed. My wife and I stayed at Arén, at the Hotel Domenc which was perfect, the room was just the right size for the two of us, not that we spent much time there, our itinerary was full. I had 5 days fishing while my wife enjoyed guided cultural tours of the local area, we then moved on to Zaragoza for a full weekend of cultural and culinary delights all organised with expert guides by Ivan and Sara at Salvelinus and his excellent team of guides. My fishing guide, Aitor, took me to the most beautiful remote places high in the mountains and we caught many trout, I would guess that we averaged 10 to 15 everyday including a huge 8pounder on my first day. My wife visited villages, monasteries, vineyards and lovely restaurants with Maria-Jose and Judit, two incredibly knowledgable guides who were an absolute pleasure to spend time with. Our breakfasts and dinners were taken at the traditional village restaurant/bar Domenc in the village under the supervision of owner Juan Antonio Domenc and his wonderful chef - the food, wine, service and general bonhomie was exceptional. The restaurant and bar have been in the Juan-Antonio’s family for generations, he also owns the Hotel Domenc where we stayed, It was all so good we will return next year.

  • P. Bär 19 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Salvelinus es bueno para el alma / Salvelinus is good for the soul.

  • Dave 17 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Outstanding fishing, guides and logistics from an outfitter as good as any in Montana, plus memorable food and wine. The size and variety of trout surprised me. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Nigel 15 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Only had time for a quick visit. Nevertheless very well worth the effort. We had a great day in the mountains with a very patient and experienced guide. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The hospitality at the lodge is superb. Great food and wine delightful company

  • Scott Morrison 15 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Salvelinus planned an outstanding 6 day fly fishing trip for my adult son and I in June of 2016. Everyday of fishing was in a different and unique location, offering completely different experiences and topography from one day to the next. The lodging, meals and guides were top notch quality delivering excellent service at a great value for the price.

  • english steve 15 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    We had a great week with Salvelinus in their Eastern lodge. The fishing was fun and very varied with mainly-small fast-rising brown trout, the guides were excellent (their struggle with English was perfectly matched by our struggle with Spanish: we muddled through with lots of laughs) and the relaxed & simple hospitality was just superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the boss, Ivan Tarin.

  • Captain.Squimp 14 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    A total experience of food, company scenery and excellent fishing

  • Justin 14 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    The Salvelinus experience is what it is all about. You are never going to find huge Trout in a thin mountain stream but you are going to have an absolutely delightful experience with great guides and immaculate service. The fly fishing for Barbel is extremely exciting and the lower rivers offer good-sized Trout. Easily accessible from any European city this is a superb trip to a very beautiful part of the world with excellent living, guiding, environment and organisation.

  • antonio 14 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    estuve este mes de septiembre pescando con salvelinus . Buena pesca, organización perfecta, hospitalidad y ríos encantadores. Si te gusta la pesca, no puedes dejar pasar la oportunidad de organizar unas jornadas de pesca con ellos, no te arrepentiras, organización perfecta, ríos y entornos maravillosos buena pesca y todo aderezado con la hospitalidad y alojamientos escogidos para hacerte sentir como en casa

  • Mark Osterkamp 14 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Great fun among warm and friendly local people in Aran. All well organized. Nice trout. Would do it again.

  • David 13 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    The water was high and the fishing was very slow. The hospitality was excellent.

  • Pj 13 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    My girlfriend and I had the most incredible trip - so much so that by the time we left, my girlfriend had become my fiancee. Everything about the trip was incredible - the fishing, the scenery, the food, the drink, the accommodation, the guides, the lodge staff, the equipment. I could not fault a single thing and would love to return some day.

  • Mark 13 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Ivan Tarin is the hardest working man in fly fishing. He's a fantastic host, a great casting coach (if you want it!), and his "insider" access and knowledge of the local areas where he guides is exemplary. I've fished with Ivan in Spain on two different trips, and both were excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Inaki.Aguirre.O 13 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Excellent family experience. Beautifull set and Very welll managed and organized. State of the art monitors. 100% recommended.

  • Scott Myers 13 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Salvelinus was excellent and very accommodating during this trip. We fished three great days. I had great guides throughout my stay and really enjoyed every minute. The food and wine was outstanding and the lodging was super comfortable with beautiful scenery all around. Highly recommend.