× Countries Species Methods Top selection Write a review Propose a New Host

Question

Contact Us

South Ayrshire Stalking,  Penkill,  United Kingdom, Deer, Sika deer, Roe deer, Fallow deer, Red deer, Geese, Woodcock, Duck, Brown trout, Atlantic salmon, Sea trout, Rainbow trout, Clay target

South Ayrshire Stalking

Rating

  • Species quality and density
  • How well was your event organised
  • How good was service and hospitality
  • Beauty of the destination
  • Value for money

Penkill, United Kingdom
Deer, Sika deer, Roe deer, Fallow deer, Red deer, Geese, Woodcock, Duck, Brown trout, Atlantic salmon, Sea trout, Rainbow trout, Clay target

Chris Dalton formed South Ayrshire Stalking in 2002 and along with his wife, Anne, they provide deer stalking opportunities and a high standard of accommodation from their home, a converted barn and cottage at “Garryloop”, in South Ayrshire, in the South West of Scotland. Chris is a highly experienced stalker, is an assessor and approved witness for the deer stalking certificates, and is one of the UK trophy measurer, he is also a sporting journalist and has a regular column in Sporting Rifle magazine. He is assisted by a small team of dedicated and highly trained stalkers. Together they provide courses for novices along with accompanied deer stalking and all aspects of deer management training and assessment for the Deer Management qualifications DSC 1 & DSC 2. Specializing in individually tailored stalking packages they can also provide other sporting opportunities including excellent woodcock, duck shooting and fishing. Chris, although primarily operating in South Ayrshire in the SW of Scotland; he also has estates in Argyll , Perthshire and the Angus Glens and so can offer stalking throughout Scotland including open hill red deer. All of these locations are very easily accessible for the main airports of Glasgow and Edinburgh and in most cases if you are driving via hire car you will be less than 2 hours away, there are also very good rail links’ . This is the complete stalking experience, all you need do is arrive and relax in very comfortable and homely accommodation and experience some of the truly remote and wild areas of this iconic sporting destination.


Price from

price per person per day
$413.67

Language

Open Season

Review icon Reviews (12)

  • Joey Tiplady 04 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have just completed a 3 day hunt with Chris in the Perthshire region of Scotland. Coming from Australia, it has been a lifetime ambition of mine to hunt the Scottish hills for red deer. I could not have chosen a more accomplished and knowledgeable stalking guide to achieve this. The countryside, the scenery, the numbers and the quality of game seen were absolutely beyond my imagination. A lifelong dream was turned into a reality. I could not have scripted a hunt any better than it unfolded on the ground. Thank you Chris, I will be back.

  • Marco 01 Oct 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I had two excellent days stalking with Chris Dalton of South Ayrshire Stalking during late September. The ground we hunted on is a beautiful estate in Perthshire with hills overlooking the river Tay. During both our morning and evening stalks were saw and heard plenty of red deer activity. A highlight of our stalking was getting to hear and see numerous red stags roaring during the beginning stages of the rut. We were aiming to take a suitable cull stag and with Chris's stalking expertise we were successful on the second morning after the most picturesque stalk you could ask for! I can't thank Chris enough for this experience and for sharing some of his extensive stalking knowledge with me. I have already made arrangements to stalk with South Ayrshire Stalking again next year and am looking forward to it! As a South African with some hunting experience back home, my stalking with Chris was an excellent way to learn more about how stalking is done in the UK. I can highly recommend South Ayrshire Stalking.

  • Paul 15 Sep 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Chris and Anne provide high quality B&B accommodation in a lovely setting. Their hospitality is excellent and most friendly. I did my DSC1 with Chris and highly recommend him.

  • Will 19 Aug 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I attended a DSC level 1 Course and Assessment with Chris. We were welcomed into his charming home set amidst prime Scottish Roe Stalking Hills. His delivery of the course was refreshingly relaxed, to the point and very engaging. It was more like a group conversation where we all engaged and benefited from Chris's experience, expert knowledge and insights. Some of the students also availed of an evening stalk after the course and spoke highly of their successful hunts, with plenty of game and opportunity. Highly Recommended.

  • Tito 13 Aug 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    We had a great time with Chris stalking for roe and deer. His knowledge is second to none. A calm, friendly professional that loves his job. Thanks Chris

  • David 18 Apr 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Chris has been a fantastic mentor throughout my time as a deer stalker. Not only is his accommodation welcoming and extremely comfortable, his knowledge and professionalism is obvious from the first. His access to interesting and varied stalking opportunities is second to none and his extremely reasonable pricing has provided me with access to a sport which would otherwise be beyond my means. I can't thank him and Anne enough.

  • Chris Storey 30 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I've been deer stalking with South Ayrshire Stalking for over 10 years now. I started with the introduction to stalking course & was hooked straight away & have made several trips a year ever since to beautiful Ayrshire. The accommodation the stalking & both Chris & Anne make up for the wonderful experience that is South Ayrshire Stalking. Highly recommended

  • Peenie Murphy 26 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    A great stalking experience and great fun with Chris and Dean. The hospitality at Garryloop is second to none. I would happily recommend South Ayreshire Stalking to anyone!

  • thomps11 24 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    My brother and I travelled up to lovely Ayrshire many years ago know after learning that Chris and Anne offered a weekends introduction to stalking. I can honestly say I a can think of no better way to learn what it mean to manage deer in a safe, ethical and enjoyable way with a guide whose knowledge/skills are top class. Chris and Anne will make you feel right at home, the company is great, the food superb and the stalking is cracking. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone, young or old and from whatever background, you'll be welcome, will enjoy yourself and learn a lot too. Give it a go, we did and we've been back every month since!

  • Sally and Andy 23 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Chris has provided us with many years of excellent stalking opportunities, always reliable and running a very professional outfit. A hugely experienced individual and a natural trainer, it is always satisfying when we visit. We look forward to many more outings with Chris in years to come!

  • Dibal 23 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I've been stalking with Chris and his assistant Dean for the past 5 years and return regularly for quality deer stalking. I did my DSC1 and 2 training with Chris and learnt a huge amount. South Ayrshire Stalking has extensive stalking grounds available all with good populations of deer including excellent Stags and Bucks. I've also experienced excellent Woodcock and Duck shooting with Chris. Accomodation with Chris and Anne is first-class and there are places of interest locally for non-shooting partners. I have no hesitation in recommending South Ayrshire Stalking whether you are a novice or experienced shooter.

  • STAG223 22 Mar 2017

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have been Stalking with South Ayrshire Stalking for 10 yrs now. Introduction to Stalking, DSC 1&2 all completed with Chris. Great mentor, instructor, and now a friend. Location great, excellent facilities at B&B, Anne his lovely a great cook and host.



More