× Countries Species Methods Top selection Write a review Propose a New Host

Question

Contact Us

Whitfield Sporting,  Hexham,  United Kingdom, Partridge, Grouse, Pheasant

Whitfield Sporting

Rating

  • Species quality and density
  • How well was your event organised
  • How good was service and hospitality
  • Beauty of the destination
  • Value for money

Hexham, United Kingdom
Partridge, Grouse, Pheasant

Blessed with 15,000 acres of very sporting terrain set in beautiful countryside, whitfield estate is widely considered to offer some of the finest grouse, partridge and pheasant shooting in the uk. Our mission statement is in our name and can be summed up in one word: ‘sporting’! Unlike some shoots we do not consider the day is about shooting as big a bag as possible. Instead we believe it is about memorab le birds, those shots you remember for years to come, great company and a thoroughly good lunch. Head keeper stuart maughan is renowned for his ability to show a steady stream of very testing birds to the guns. Most of our days are around 250-300 birds (although we can do more). But because the shooting is so testing you can have more shooting and more fun on a 250 bird day at whitfield than on a 500 bird day elsewhere – but at around half the cost. That has to make sense! We believe a shoot is only as good as the next day it puts on. The vast majority of our bookings are repeat and it is word of mouth, not advertising, that fills the balance of the days.

Price from

price per person per day
POA (Price On Application)

Species

Method

Language

Open Season

Review icon Reviews

  • Pecunius12 12 Oct 2016

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I was fortunate to shoot at Whitfield in September on back to back days. We were on a 100 brace day and it could have easily been a much larger day. Stuart asked that we shoot only single guns as if we had shot double guns we would have only had two maybe three days. Great scenery, good birds, and good hospitality make for a great two days.

  • George Digweed 04 Sep 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Shooting at Whitfield is very much of how it used to be. It is wild, rugged and beautiful. Stuart has an intimate knowledge of the drives and executes them to perfection. It is one of the best shoots I have been to in the UK. We run our own shoots but Whitfield remains a favourite for me to go to. George Digweed.

  • willhob 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    We have been going to Whitfield for over 15 years and every time it has been really well organised. Plenty of game pushed over the guns in an extremely professional way with the beating team doing all they can to make the day very successful for one and all

  • Barber 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have been shooting in Whitfield State for the last 15 years with 12 other friends.Mostly the always same guys.We are all delighted since starting shooting there about birds( very high ones included)and organisation.Even Norththumberland rough weather has never be able to reduce the fun, except in one year at the very end of January where snow made shooting quite hard.

  • Frankdufficy 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Whitfield is very special and unique in its approach to management and delivery.\n\nThe team of keepers and beaters cover a huge expanse of some of the wildest terrain to deliver game over the guns evenly and constantly to ensure the highest satisfaction for the entire gun line.

  • elcapitano 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    This is an annual event and each visit has produced excellent challaging shooting. Great care is taken to ensure all guns get good shooting on each drive. If a drive is not working the drive is stopped and guns repositioned. A visit to Whitfield is always a highlight of the shooting season. \n\nGood local accommodation is the only issue but something more than offset by the quality of the shooting.

  • Gary 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Its not the place for a casual occasional shooter, you will need your shooting boots on to hit the bag.\n\nWe agree fixed price for the day, and we have been going for nearly ten years, driving up from Devon, 400 miles, 7 hours non stop, away from what is perceived as the finest driven shooting area in the UK, should tell you something.\n\nWe go because the people are good company,once you get to know them, and they don't all drive off into the distance once the last drive is finished.\n\n

  • R.R.Jackman 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have been fortunate to have shot at Whitfield estate four or five times in the season and have had a superb days shooting on each occasion. The shoot is very well organised with an attentive keeper, whom ensures everyone enjoys the day, sporting and socially, the birds were excellently presented for all levels of experience, shooting such drives as Kingswood Rock , Crook Bridge and Craghead, thus giving a fantastic selection of great testing birds evenly spread throughout the day. Myself and the team could not have asked for a better day.

  • west country bill 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Whitfield Estate is my first choice of venue to shoot. Stuart's and his team's professionalism shines through to produce some of the most challenging and enjoyable days shooting. They invariably produce quality birds in beautiful surroundings in a relaxed and convivial atmosphere.

  • David.C 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Whitfield is one of those places you must shoot at least once in your lifetime, if not only for the fantastic experience of seeing some of the best birds in the country fly over you, but also for the beautiful scenary espescially in the month of October !when the tree lined escarpments are in full resplendent colour “a sight to see as you stand in the beautiful river Alan waiting for that dot in the sky”, you also get a chance to see a gamekeeper at the top of his game so to speak as he spreads the birds continuously down the line with military prescision, the birds are daunting on the extreme days!! but the experience is well worth it.\n\nDavid Carrie

  • Andrew 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I have shot about 30 days each year for the last 25 years which has taken me to many fine shooting estates around the country. I first discovered Whitfield about 15 years ago and have been returning every year since. The uniqueness that sets Whitfield apart from most shoots is that rare combination of top draw high birds, an amazing scenery and an even distribution of shooting across the gun line. Stuart Maughn, the shoot manager, orchestrates the both the beating line and the guns with precision and is not afraid to change drives or move guns to suite the prevailing wind; which means all guns get shooting on all drives.\n\nFor me and my roving syndicate it is about quality not quantity, so our measure of value in shooting terms is about number of shots fired, as we are in control of the trigger; And in this respect, Whitfield has no equal.\n\nIf I were only to be shooting once this next season it would be at Whitfield.

  • Mail 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    A very well and professional shoot with spectacular high birds which are very well driven and come mostly one by one. Beautiful surroundings and a good lunch in a friendly pub. We enjoyed a fantastic day, but experience is needed.

  • John.Harris 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    I will be returning for my 26th year next season - the quality and value for money is exceptional. I would highly recommend this shoot to anyone.

  • Terrylee31 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    Some of the most testing high birds in the UK, from an efficient and friendly Estate team. Having shot here for many years no guns are ever out of the shooting with the keeper, Stuart Maughan, having the control and confidence to pause the drive, and move guns if he feels that it is necessary due to wind conditions etc. to ensure all guns have a successful drive.

  • Info 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    My experience of Whitfield has been on Partridge and mainly Pheasant extreme days and despite being a commercial shoot the experience is anything but.\n\nThe real advantage Whitfield has over many shoots is the unpredictability and variety of birds presented which is due to the fact that birds are flushed from very steep wooded banks.This is done in a very controlled manner\n\nwith a steady trickle of birds rather than huge flushes and on many\n\noccasions the drives have lasted over an hour.This is entirely due to the\n\nvery professional approach of the keepers with their intimate knowledge \n\nof the ground.Two other important points from a guns point of view are that where ever possible guns will be moved during a drive if they are out of the shooting and there are no overage bills.I find Whitfield a truly wild unspoilt place to shoot with birds of a quality to test the best.\n\n\n\nPeter Lonsdale\n\n\n\n\n\n

  • no 20 Jun 2015

    Rating

    • Species quality and density
    • How well was your event organised
    • How good was service and hospitality
    • Beauty of the destination
    • Value for money

    one of the most challenging shoots in GB, birds from 40 m on up to 60 m, pheasant, partridge (a good shot is considered to have a ratio of one to five or six cartridges!) - also famous grouse shoot; food and services very good.



More