Belonging to the Forester family since 1740, Willey Park is located in the heart of rural Shropshire, close to the small market town of Much Wenlock, and boasts the longest running continuous game book in the country dating back to 1825.
The Willey Estate came into the Forester family via the marriage of Elizabeth Weld to Brook Forester in the mid 1700's. John Weld, who was Lord of the Manor from 1618, used the heavy clay soil at Willey to his advantage and created fish ponds which were managed for trout fishing when he enclosed the park in 1625. Today these now ornamental lakes provide exciting sport with call duck put down to draw the wild mallard and teal.
Not far from Coalbrookdale (one of the birthplaces of the Industrial Revolution) on the edge of the East Shropshire Coal field, both ironstone and coal were mined on the estate and the names of drives such as The Furnace and The Pump hark back to that long gone industrial era.
Willey Park is surrounded by 2000 acres of lush parkland with many well placed woods providing sensational birds in awe inspiring surroundings. We pride ourselves here on producing quality pheasants, duck and partridge.